CTR (click-through rate) is a click-through rate in Internet marketing. It is calculated as the ratio of the number of clicks to the total number of impressions (advertisement, banner, website in a search engine). In this article, we will analyze in detail what CTR is in simple terms, and also tell you what it affects and how to increase it.
What is CTR in advertising
Imagine that you are running contextual advertising in Yandex.Direct or Google Ads. Your task is to increase website traffic and sales. To increase traffic, you need to write advertisements that users click and follow. CTR in advertising is an indicator of the clickability of advertisements. This metric reflects what percentage of users out of the total number clicked on the advertisement.
CTR calculation formula
CTR = (number of clicks/number of impressions) x 100
Let's look at an example. Your ad was shown 100 times, of which only 15 were clicked. Let's calculate the ad's clickability.
(15/100) x 100 = 15%
It turns out that the CTR of the advertisement was 15 percent.
Why do you need CTR in Yandex.Direct and Google Ads
The click-through rate in advertising systems is needed to evaluate the quality of your ad. Let's imagine a situation: Petya wants his ad to be shown in the first place in the advertisement and is ready to pay 200 rubles per click for this. However, Petya does not want to work on the quality of the ads, so he quickly came up with a couple of template phrases and launched the ad. The CTR of Petya's ad is 10%.
Petya has a competitor on the other side of the country - Vasya. Vasya cannot pay 200 rubles per click and agrees to a price of 150 rubles. However, Vasya is ready to devote time to the quality of advertising and has created interesting and catchy ads. Their CTR is as much as 35%.
Now think about which ad will be more profitable for Yandex and Google? Let's imagine that both ads were shown to 1000 people. Let's calculate how much the advertising systems will bolivia whatsapp number database earn from each.
Petya: (1000 x 10%) x 200 = 20,000 rubles
Vasya: (1000 x 35%) x 150 = 37,500 rubles
As we can see, even though Vasya pays less money per click, he will still receive more traffic and will be a more profitable client for Yandex and Google.
CTR in search engines
Clickability in search engines is calculated in a similar way. The higher the CTR, the more traffic you will receive from search engines. Here is an example of search results for the query "vps ispmanager".
This is what Google search results look like for the query "vps ispmanager"Snippets in Google search results.
Which link are you most likely to click? The more attractive the snippet, the higher the CTR will show. Accordingly, you will get more organic traffic to the site.
What does CTR affect?
CTR affects the following things:
advertising cost - the higher the CTR of your ad, the cheaper the cost per click will be (for example, in Yandex.Direct);
number of ad impressions - the higher the CTR, the more people your ad will be shown to;
positions in search results - the higher the click-through rate in search, the better the positions will be in Yandex and Google;
website traffic - high CTR will lead to increased traffic.
How to Increase Click-Through Rate